Subclass 189:

Skilled Independent Visa

Subclass 189 is a permanent residency visa for skilled migration to Australia that doesn’t require sponsorship from an employer or from a state/territory. In all instances, to apply for this skilled independent visa you need to be less than 45 years of age, and meet character and health requirements. Subclass 189 visa holders will be able to live and work in Australia permanently.

There are three different entry schemes to Subclass 189:

  • Points tested stream
  • New Zealand stream
  • Hong Kong stream.

Points tested stream

This stream requires an Expression of Interest (EOI) to be lodged, and only applicants who are invited are able to apply for a subclass 189 visa. The EOI is open for two years; if you’re selected, you then have 60 days to lodge your application.

  • Your occupation must be on the skilled occupation list
  • A suitable skills assessment for your occupation must be lodged with your EOI.
  • You need to meet the minimum points benchmark.
  • You also need to meet English language requirements.

New Zealand stream (Now Closed)

For Australia visa 189 you must have:

  • Started living in Australia on or before 19 February 2016; and
  • Hold a Special Category (Subclass 444) visa; and
  • Lived in Australia for at least the last five years; and
  • Earned a taxable income at or above an income threshold for each of the four completed income years prior to lodging an application if the application was lodged prior to 1 July 2021, or for each of the three completed income years if the application is lodged on or after 1 July 2021.

Hong Kong stream

For holders of a Hong Kong or British National (Overseas) passport, who have demonstrated commitment to Australia.

You must have lived in Australia continually for at least four years when you apply, and meet English language requirements.

Do you need help with your visa Subclass 189 application?

We specialise in Australian visas – contact us for up-to-date advice.

0 of 350